Irish wake

Is it appropriate to have a funeral for an animal?  My friend’s cat sadly had to be euthanized this past Saturday, and since he was a ginger/Irish cat, I thought it would be a good way to remember all the good things about him (and some of the bad; how many of my purses did he pee on?).  I don’t begrudge George for any of that though.  He was a very unique cat, with a rather human perspective on life.  While we might not have seen eye to eye on everything (he hated my dancing), he never failed to dish out my fair share of “kitty kisses” when he was pleased with himself.  He helped raise two adorable kittens, and taught them to be respectable cats.

It hurts to know I will never see George again, or have the opportunity to torment him with my terrible dancing.  I keep looking up at the windowsill and expect to see him lazily sunning himself.  Never again will we have to rescue George from “having no legs” or poke the lumps in the blanket to find out which one was him.  And as painful as this is for me, I can’t imagine how my friend must feel.  I only wish I could have done more to help her.

Rest in peace, George.  You were one cool cat.

~ by blacksheepintheroom on June 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
